Home Page

Phonics Teaching

Phonics at Iqra Primary School


Letters and Sounds


At Iqra Primary School we are using Letters and sounds to guide our planning and progression in phonics.

Letters and Sounds is split into 6 phases taught across EYFS and Key Stage 1.


Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS):


Phase One (Nursery / Pre-school)


The aim of this phase is to foster children’s speaking and listening skills as preparation for learning to read with phonics.

Parents can play a vital role in helping their children develop these skills, by encouraging their children to listen carefully and talk extensively about what they hear, see and do.


Phase Two – Four (Reception)

Phase Two is when systematic, high quality phonic work begins. During Phase Two to Four, children learn: 

  • How to represent each of the 42 sounds by a letter or sequence of letters.

  • How to blend sounds together for reading and how to segment (split) words for spelling.

  • Letter names

  • How to read and spell some high frequency ‘tricky’ words containing sounds not yet learnt (e.g. they, my, her, you).


    The Letters and Sounds Programme progresses from the simple to the more complex aspects of phonics at a pace that is suitable for the children who are learning.


    Key Stage 1:

    Phase Five (Year 1)

     Children learn new ways of representing the sounds and practise blending for reading and segmenting for spelling.


    Phase Six (Year 2)

    During this phase, children become fluent readers and increasingly accurate spellers


To ensure children have access to a variety of teaching strategies to enhance and reinforce their knowledge and understanding of phonics the following are also used:


  • Jolly phonics – sounds are matched to actions and rhyme

  • Bug Club- interactive programme to teach phonics



Interactive websites at home to support your child’s learning:


  • Reading at Iqra Primary School


    At Iqra Primary School we have sorted our reading books into categories of reading ability in accordance with age expectations (books from Oxford Reading Tree, Rigby Star etc.).


    By colour banding our books we have been able to put a bigger variety of different scheme books at any particular stage, providing children with greater choice of text and genre.

    Children will read books according to their ability.  For example a child in year 3 may be reading a book which may also be read in Y2 or Y4. This ensures children read books which challenge them appropriately.

    For children in key stage 2 who have demonstrated their ability to use all the reading strategies there  are a variety ‘free readers’ real books (those that do not belong to any particular scheme), where children will have access to a range of fiction and non- fiction books.



    The chart above gives an indication of the range of Book Band levels at which most children will be reading as they progress through primary school.




    For more information please do not hesitate to contact the school